Swearing-In Ceremony of the Herndon Town Council To Be Held Jan. 9

The newly elected members of the 2019-2020 Town Council enter upon the duties of their offices on the first day of January following the November 2018 Town Election. However, given scheduling changes for the Swearing-In Ceremony of the new 2019-2020 Town Council, moving it to a date a week after Jan. 1, to Wednesday, Jan. 9. 2019, Viki L. Wellerhaus, Town Clerk of the Town of Herndon individually administered the Oaths of Office to the member-elects in late December.

The first publicized Town Council Work Session is on the calendar for the evening of Jan. 8, 2019, 24 hours before the scheduled Jan. 9, 2019 Swearing-In Ceremony. Seated at that Work Session will be the newly elected 2019-2020 Town Council, re-elected as mayor, Lisa C. Merkel, re-elected as Town Council Members, Signe V. Friedrichs, Jennifer K. Baker, William J. "Bill” McKenna, and Sheila A. Olem and elected to their first terms on the Council, Cesar A. del Aguila and Pradip Dhakal.

The publicized Swearing-In Ceremony of the 2019-2020 Herndon Town Council remains scheduled though for Wed., Jan. 9, 2019, 7 p.m. in the Herndon Municipal Center Lobby located at 777 Lynn Street, Herndon.

Family, friends and the public are invited to attend the ceremony, witness the Oaths of Office administered to the Town Council by Viki Wellerhaus, and enjoy the reception immediately following the ceremony. During the reception, the public can greet and congratulate the 2019-2020 Council Members.

Log in to comment